Wednesday, August 1, 2012

Book Review of A Voice in the Wind by Francine Rivers

Paperback520 pages
Published February 18th 1998 by Tyndale House Publishers (first published January 1st 1994)
Torn by her love for a handsome aristocrat, a young slave girl clings to her faith in the living God for deliverance from the forces of decadent Rome. 

I don't usually read adult romance novels but this book I made an exception for considering it was a christian fiction book. This book was filled with tear dropping, heart thumping, page turning romance. Hadassah is a young Jewish girl who family and home land has been ravaged by the Romans. I forgot to mention that this book takes place a few years after Jesus was crucified. When the book opens up you meet a young Hadassah who is struggling to keep her family alive while the Romans are going door to door killing every Jew. Hadassah different from every other Jew is a christian. Christians in this book are persecuted by everyone including the God fearing Jews. Through the book Hadassah prays to Jesus for safe passage and protection. Hadassah is taken to Rome to become a slave to the Valerian family. Hadassah is assigned to take care of Julia the Valerian's daughter. In the beginning Julia hates Hadassah so does the Valerian's son Marcus, but Hadassah has a growing affection for Marcus that she does not understand. Soon Marcus begins to have feelings for the girl he is supposed to despise.

This book is a fast paced love story that is in the point of view of 4 people: Hadassah, Marcus, Julia, and Atretes, a gladiator who's whose story was very slow at first but got interesting in the middle. These characters all endure hardships and love but it all comes back to the one true God. Hadassah's faith proves that God is a being of love. I loved how that even though the Valerians are pagan worshipers they start to have a pull to Jesus and Gods love. The book also had great action scenes in the Atretes story, but for a christian fiction book it really surprised me on how gory this book could get and how graphic it could describe things. there was sometimes that it descried, not in full detail, a nude scene between some of the characters. Me and my mom, who was reading it the same time as me, noticed that there were some resemblances between some characters. Hadassah we thought kinda represented Jesus, Calabah who you meet in the middle of the book kinda represents the Devil the way that she convinces Julia to do so many bad things like murder, adultery, and drugs. Julia was a great character at the beginning and wishing that she would turn to God but as the book progresses she changes so much and then she meets Calabah who changes her to the point that you just want her to die. I read this book at a hard time in my life and it really opened up my eyes to how much love and God are so important in our lives!

This book is an inspirational love story, about two starcrossed lovers who are not meant to love each other but find that you can't fight love! I give this book 5 youngblood stars! Happy Reading!!!              


Monday, July 30, 2012

        Interview with Amy Kathleen Ryan
This week I was asked to interview one of my favorite authors for the release of her new book in the Sky Chasers Series Spark sequel to Glow. Okay since I have not been able to do a post in awhile because my computer has been broken but now I have a new computer and I finally get to do this post. I sent in the questions and these are the answers:


1. What inspired you to write Glow and Spark? I actually set out to write a middle grade novel about a boy character. For a long time Kieran was the star of the story. As GLOW developed, I realized that it was too gritty for younger kids, and Waverly started taking on a life of her own, and more or less took over!

2. Do you feel a connection to your characters? They are all a part of me. The only way I know to write about another person is to imagine myself in their skin, rationalizing their decisions, however disastrous, and feeling their hurts. It's the only way to be authentic.


3. Would you say that Science Fiction is your favorite genre in books, if not what is your favorite and why? I do love science fiction, but I don't really have a favorite genre. I simply love good writing, and I read everything --historical novels, dystopian, mysteries, young adult, middle grade... If the writing is good, the genre doesn't matter to me.

4. Do you ever find spare time to read, and if you do what do you love most to read? Lately I am busy with being a mommy, my favorite job of all, so I don't find I have a lot of time to read. Not as much as I used to anyway! I miss having long stretches of hours before me to enjoy a book. Now I have to read in snatches, and it can be hard to really immerse yourself in a writer's world that way. Right now I'm reading George R.R. Martin's sesries, A Game of Thrones, which is disturbing and enthralling all at once.

5. If your book ever became a movie who would you want to play Waverly? Interesting question. There are so many talented young actresses out there. I was particularly struck by the performance of Hailee Steinfeld in True Grit. I think she'd make a brilliant Waverly.

6. If a ship like the Empyrean existed would you want to live on it, and why or why not? Honestly, I love planet Earth. I would not want to spend my life on a space ship. But if I had to, the Empyrean wouldn't be too bad. It's got trees and animals, at least, and the people there live fairly natural lives. But they're still trapped in a tin can!

7. If you had to choose which boy from your book that you liked most between Kieran or Seth who would it be, and why? I can't play favorites. But I can say that I like Kieran's goodness. He's complicated, and leadership makes it tough for him to keep his motives pure, but he always tries to do the right thing, and he has good honest values. Seth is darker, and a much more troubled soul, but there are reasons for that. His abusive upbringing is difficult for him to rise above, but I love how hard Seth tries, especially in Spark. He wants to be a better person, and I think that's courageous and admirable.

8. When did you choose to become a writer and why? It's a commitment that I renew every so often. Writing is a tough profession, highly competitive, and it can often feel as though your work is misunderstood or unappreciated. It hurts when people don't like your writing. But it's really the job to which I am most suited, according to both temperament and preference.

9. What prepared you to be a writer? My education. I studied hard, through high school, college and graduate school. I learned about literature and how to express myself well in the English language. If you don't know your grammar and spelling, if you can't put together a sentence, a paragraph, an argument, a story arc, you are not a writer. You have to be willing to work hard learning these things before you can really begin a career. That said, a writer doesn't necessarily have to have a formal education. Some writers are self taught. I am not. I think instruction from seasoned professionals whose trade is the English language is an easier and shorter path to competence. But it's not the only path.

It was so awesome to get to talk to Amy and she was so nice it was so awesome so thanks Amy and St.Martins Griffin!! Hope you guys have a great week in books!! Happy reading!!!!

Thursday, June 28, 2012

Book Review of Crank by Ellen Hopkins.

Paperback537 pages
Published October 5th 2004 by Margaret K. McElderry Books 
Kristina Georgia Snow is the perfect daughter: gifted high school junior, quiet, never any trouble. But on a trip to visit her absentee father, Kristina disappears and Bree takes her place. Bree is the exact opposite of Kristina -- she's fearless. Through a boy, Bree meets the monster: crank. And what begins as a wild, ecstatic ride turns into a struggle through hell for her mind, her soul -- her life.



This book was so heartbreaking. I was almost in tears while trying to read it. It is so hard to read a book about a girl whose downfall is caused by the Monster aka Crank. The girl finds an alter ego, and not your typical superhero alter ego. This alter ego is a girl named Bree. Bree is a fearless, flirtatious, vulgar girl. Kristina is the good girl that does everything her parents tell her to do. Two different girls, one body. Kristina/Bree goes to visit her father who is a drugee with no sympathy. She also meets Adam who is the guy that your Dad tells you to stay away from, except Kristina's dad could care less. Kristina thinks this is just going to be summer fling but it turns out to be the thing that changes her life the most. Adam introduces Kristina/Bree to the Monster. She is hooked instantly, and starts her downward spiral into hell. 

This book ironically gave me a big head ache while I reading about her hangovers. I liked Kristina but Bree is the one I hated. Kristina wanted to stop, Bree wanted to keep going. Kristina loves her family and friends, Bree could care less about them if she had to she would sell them for drugs. As I read on I was more saddened as she delved deeper into the darkness, by going against her family and doing more drugs including: Ecstasy, Meth, Pot, and drinking peoples blood to get more of a high. 

Her parents try and try to get their daughter back but are not able to. Kristina starts to shove her family away and hang with boys and drugs. Along the way she meets Chase and Brendan. Chase, strong, and promises love for Kristina/Bree. Brendan, tan, and only wants sex. These boys are neither good but if I had to choose I choose Chase. He truly saw Kristina for who she truly was and showed her how to control her urge for the monster. 

The end was where I was literally on the edge of my seat, bawling my eyes out. The ending had neither a good ending or a bad ending but an ending leaving you knowing that Kristina is all right and Bree is being controlled. 

Ellen Hopkins delivers a spine tingling, heartbreaking story about a monster, that once your addicted, you can't run away. I award this book 5 stars for the intense story and the addicting characters.     

Tuesday, June 26, 2012


Book Review of 
Everneath by Brodi Ashton

Last spring, Nikki Beckett vanished, sucked into an underworld known as the Everneath, where immortals Feed on the emotions of despairing humans. Now she’s returned—to her old life, her family, her friends—before being banished back to the underworld... this time forever. 

She has six months before the Everneath comes to claim her, six months for good-byes she can’t find the words for, six months to find redemption, if it exists.

Nikki longs to spend these months reconnecting with her boyfriend, Jack, the one person she loves more than anything. But there’s a problem: Cole, the smoldering immortal who first enticed her to the Everneath, has followed Nikki to the mortal world. And he’ll do whatever it takes to bring her back- this time as his queen.

As Nikki’s time grows short and her relationships begin slipping from her grasp, she’s forced to make the hardest decision of her life: find a way to cheat fate and remain on the Surface with Jack or return to the Everneath and become Cole’s queen.


This book was a fast paced action paced novel. This a Greek re-telling based on the queen of the underworld Persephone!! Brodie's writing really spoke to me in a way that made me have a complete relationship with the characters. Nikki was a strong, independent, and fearless girl who defied the ruler of the dead. When the book started mentioning the tunnels, a dark hole that is going to kidnap Nikki and take her back to the underworld, i started shaking and i could barely read at night it scared me so much!!
This book almost kinda reminded me of a contemporary/paranormal romance type of book. there is not that much action just a lot of suspense and mystery. Cole(Hades) also creeped me out to the point to where I so scared to go outside. He was so stalkerish and he would just appear in Nikki's window at random times. I am team Jack but there are somethings that just made me so mad. Nikki comes back and he treats her like she did something completely wrong when it was him who did something that aided in her going to the Underworld!!!
The dad also really got to me. His character sounded like he was more worried with his job than his own daughter, I mean yes a job is important but family comes first. 
I got to the ending and my mouth was hanging open and I didn't even know it. the ending was one of those throw a fit at the last page. I am so ready for the 2nd book Everbound!!!
I give this book 5 out of 5 stars to its breath taking love story to the suspense and an amazing re-telling.  

Monday, June 25, 2012

Book Haul (18)

Hey you guys I am back to do an In My Mailbox and I left a link up above to watch my YouTube In My Mailbox. The books I got are from two weeks worth. 
I will start with the one I got from last week.
Darkness Before Dawn- J.A. London
Timpiece (#2 Hourglass)- Myra McEntire
Then I have the ones I got for this week.
Reunited- Hilary Weisman Graham
Cold Kiss- Amy Garvey 
Black City- Elizabeth Richards 
Also one of my best friends won an ARC from Marissa Meyer of SCARLET (#2 Lunar Chronicles) 
This book is a futuristic re-telling of RED RIDING HOOD. This book is 60% of Scarlet's point of view and 40% of Cinder's.
That is all for me this week leave down in the comments what you got In Your Mailbox this week.
HAPPY READING!!!  


Thursday, April 12, 2012

Review: Abandon by Meg Cabot

Though she tries returning to the life she knew before the accident, Pierce can't help but feel at once a part of this world, and apart from it. Yet she's never alone . . . because someone is always watching her. Escape from the realm of the dead is impossible when someone there wants you back.

But now she's moved to a new town. Maybe at her new school, she can start fresh. Maybe she can stop feeling so afraid.

Only she can't. Because even here, he finds her. That's how desperately he wants her back. She knows he's no guardian angel, and his dark world isn't exactly heaven, yet she can't stay away . . . especially since he always appears when she least expects it, but exactly when she needs him most.

But if she lets herself fall any further, she may just find herself back in the one place she most fears: the Underworld.





This book was interesting. I am always in for a good greek retelling and I enjoyed this one.

Pierce, the protagonist, is an idiot. She is one of those people that always ask the dumbest or most obvious questions. I didn't like her enough said. John, the love interest, is dark, brooding, and mysterious. He is one of those desirable characters you look for in books. His bad side can be a little annoying, when he tries to act mad at Pierce he fails horribly. 

This book also made me mad at some points. Don't get me wrong I love Meg Cabot's writing but she is like the master of suspense or something. When pierce first started out she was describing and incident that happened at her old school and your dying to know what happens, but you have to wait until like page 150 or something like that. The place that is took place at was really weird but went along with the story. Also this book barely resembled the myth of Persephone and Hades. One, Pierce wasn't taken, Second, she only stayed in the underworld for like a few minutes before she finally came back to the human world. 

This book had a lot of suspense and action. I like this book even though the flaws made me angry. Meg Cabot has delivered and amazing retelling that will leave you dying for more. 

I reward ABANDON with:

Monday, April 9, 2012

Review: The Devouring by Simon Holt

THE VOURS: Evil, demonic beings that inhabit human bodies on Sorry Night, the darkest hours of the winter solstice.

When Reggie reads about the Vours in a mysterious old journal, she assumes they are just the musings of an anonymous lunatic. But when her little brother, Henry, begins to act strangely, it's clear that these creatures exist beyond a madwoman's imagination, and Reggie finds out what happens when fears come to life.

To save the people she loves, Reggie must learn to survive in a world of nightmares. Can she devour her own fears before they devour her?















This book is really creepy, and really hard to describe.

Let me start off with the characters. Reggie, is a strong independent character who you kinda had to feel sorry for her considering she lost her mother left the family. She's also kinda disturbed, she reads all this weird stuff about demons and monsters. Her dad never understands her and always writes her off thinking she is a crazy teenager. Henry, Reggie's little brother, was my least favorite character. He is a wimp and a crybaby and most people would be mad at me for saying that considering he is around seven years old but i can't take someone who is always crying and never doing anything, they are the most vulnerable of all people. Aaron, Reggie's best friend, was a noble character and the ideal character as the adoring best friend. He is the best friend that people dream of. He is caring, protective, and the person who is there for you when you need it. The Vours, antagonists, are the creepiest thing you could think or you could put it this way, your worst fear.

Let's address where the place takes place. Cutter's Wedge, this sounds like a horrible side dish at a restaurant. But it is the perfect place to have a good paranormal story to take place. This is a medium sized town with a theatre and a school so it's a good size.

My review for this book will be 5 youngblood stars for the anticipation and creepiness. Be for warned that is you read this book on sorry night, burry your fears or be taken by the Vours.   

I reward THE DEVOURING with: